The Song

Because I know you are all dying to hear THE SONG. In its final version, you can download it here: http://www.katereid.net. Simply go to Music, then New Singles, then bam! Download the MP3 and see if you can listen to it as many times as me (as if that were even remotely possible!)

As you all know, I love it. I love it because it’s real. I love it because it’s healing. I love it because it gives me a way to speak back to the total effed up-ness of breast cancer, and I can participate in that speak-back while I’m sitting on the bus, shaving my legs, or making tailoring a rubric for the stop motion animation I just assigned my undergrads. I can sing loudly at the top of my lungs when I’m by myself, I can mouth the words when others are around, or I can play it in the background while I write. I actually think playing it in the background is one of the most powerful moments, because there’s a soundtrack to this really painful, insane, experience that feels so profoundly un-real, and having that soundtrack lets me know in my body that it happened without having to dive into these intensive conversations about it all. Cancer is always there, and the song in the background all the time makes it real that it’s always there, without having to make cancer always central. It’s there and not there. It’s the landscape of how my life is, and listening to the song acknowledges that all the time for me, whether I am on the bus wondering if the woman across the aisle wearing a wrap on her head is cancer-bald underneath or as I peruse the vegetable selection for the best bell peppers. The Song is a way to talk about cancer while hating the happy-happy pink ribbons, be critical of warrior narratives while laughing at self-identifying in a song as a poststructuralist feminist, and say dude- what you think is under this shirt is not what is under this shirt and it’s that way because of heteronormative neoliberal patriarchal capitalism, all at the same time.

It’s just so perfect. We’re working right now on a fundraising campaign, because we want to make a MUSIC VIDEO! Keep your eyes peeled for that, as it’s gonna be kind of awesome and we will absolutely need your support. But until then, I hope you enjoy this song as much as Kate and I do, though even she says she’s never known anyone to listen to a song as many times as I’ve listened to Breast Cancer Pink. Do let us know what you think of it! Happy listening!

Leave a Reply

